The Delia Project (#90): Mince Pies

The Delia Smith Project: Mince Pies

Mmmm…. mince pies. As I write this, I have just finished making our second batch of mince pies (each batch is 36 pies). They are basically a staple in our house for the whole of December.

I made the mincemeat a few weeks back, following Delia’s vegetarian mincemeat recipe. I consider it to be the BEST mincemeat recipe as it’s not rich and gooey, just nicely light and sweet.

However, I don’t follow Delia’s recipe for the pastry, not since one of our neighbours in England gave me the following recipe. I’m not sure where it came from, but it’s my go-to mince pie pastry recipe:

Orange Pastry for Mince Pies

  • 500 grams plain flour
  • 175 grams icing or caster sugar
  • 375 grams butter
  • 1 orange, juiced and rind grated
  1. Sift the flour and sugar into a mixing bowl. Cut the butter into small pieces, stir these into the flour and then rub gently with your fingertips until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Stir in the grated orange rind.
  2. Then, using a knife, stir in the orange juice until the dough just begins to stick together. Gather up the dough and pat it into a ball, wrap it in cling film and refrigerate for 30 minutes or more before using.

If you want to substitute some of the butter for margarine, go ahead. Just don’t tell me about it.

Leave a Reply

