The Delia Project (#65 ) Chapattis

The Delia Smith Project: Chapattis (with Vegetable Biryani and Mango Chutney)

Here I’m showing you a complete menu, though only the chapattis are from Delia’s Complete Cookery Course. I thought they’d look a little boring on their own! The Vegetable Biryani is from River Cottage Veg and the Mango Chutney from The Nourishing Gourmet. DO NOT – as I did – attempt to make this on a weekday evening. The vegetable biryani alone takes 2 hours to cook. I highly recommend trying the mango chutney; it’s super quick to make, you just simmer all the ingredients together and blend. And you can make it as mild or as spicy as you like. It makes a lot too, so you’ll have some to hand next time you fancy a curry.

Anyway, back to the chapattis. The ingredients are simple enough: flour, salt and cold water. The dough is kneaded for 10 minutes (not by me though, my mixer does that) and rests for 30 minutes. After dividing the dough into 12 equal-sized pieces, you roll them out really thin and fry them on both sides until you see bubbles rising in the dough. The next step is to brown them under a hot grill where they inflate like a ball; I wanted to take a photo of that, but the process is quite quick and I didn’t have time!

It’s not difficult to make these, but I did find it quite fast-paced. Whilst there was a chapatti under the grill, I was keeping an eye on the next one in the pan, waiting for the right time to flip it and simultaneously watching the grill to whip out the finished chapatti. Good thing my stove top is right by the oven; I was doing a little jig between the two as it was.

And so… what did my little Munchkin critics think? They liked the chapattis. That’s it. The biryani had onions and the slightly saffron-tinted rice freaked them out a bit. Apparently because rice is supposed to be white. They were a bit unsure about the mango chutney. But I have permission to make the chapattis again.

Leave a Reply

