The Delia Project (#35): Traditional Roast Chicken with Stuffing

Traditional Roast Chicken with Stuffing

I’ve roasted chickens many times before but never actually stuffed one before today. This was a minced pork, onion and sage stuffing, though I didn’t have any sage so had to substitute marjoram and thyme.

Roast chicken is one of those meals that I always think is easy, it cooks itself, right? Then just when I think I can pop it in the oven and enjoy the first sun and blue sky we’ve had in weeks, I remember that I have to come inside and baste it every 20 minutes. Then between bastings I have to rescue Munchkin #2 who has stepped in some very sticky, very deep mud which has swallowed one of his boots.

When the chicken is ready, it needs to rest for 30 minutes. Time for a glass of wine? ‘Fraid not, there are veggies to be made and I discover that both Munchkins are so muddy that the only thing for it is to put them both in the bath.

Traditional Roast Chicken with Stuffing

Cooking a roast dinner needs to be carefully orchestrated: at the last minute the gravy needs making, the chicken needs carving and the vegetables need to be ready. I’m not there yet. Inevitably something goes cold while I’m getting something else ready.

Here’s a great little tool though that will help with the timing – a dynamic meat roasting planner. Just choose your type of meat, the weight and when you want to serve it and it will work out a schedule for you, including what time to turn on the oven to preheat.

Are you wondering why I cooked two chickens? Leftovers! That’ll be lunch or dinner in a couple of days – stay tuned…

One thought on “The Delia Project (#35): Traditional Roast Chicken with Stuffing

  1. Pingback: The Delia Project (#38): Creamed Chicken with Avocado | Eine Kugel Vanilla

Leave a Reply

