I’m cooking my way through Delia

270113_delia

Inspired by the wonderful movie ‘Julie and Julia’ I’ve set myself a project to cook my way through Delia Smith’s Complete Cookery Course. Because I want to learn to cook. Properly. And because I am already in the kitchen three times a day, so it’s not as though I have find the time from somewhere.

I mean, I can cook already and I can follow a recipe. It’s just that I have several gaps in my knowledge. I have never made a proper omelette, I don’t know what to do with a good piece of steak and have never made rough puff pastry.

Instead of moving through the book in a linear fashion – that would mean starting with the Eggs chapter and eating nothing but eggs for breakfast, lunch and dinner for two weeks – I will choose a menu each week, and make a soup, salad, vegetable side dish, main course and pudding.

Did I mention there are 487 recipes in the Complete Cookery Course? I’m going to try and make as many as I can this year. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

